Crunch time… already

I am already feeling the end of the semester crunch, and it’s only March! I have got a lot going on in the next couple of months. I’m anticipating that the rest of the semester will go really well, even if it is super busy.

I attended a Writing Workshop at the Warner School last Friday. It focused on writing extended texts, and I went with a couple of friends to try and get some support and guidance on our Master’s Essays. I came away from the workshop with some good resources and a renewed sense of motivation. I spent the weekend looking through a lot of the books and articles that I have been collecting over the past few weeks. After a lot of reading and a couple of e-mails with my advisor, I think I am ready to write my proposal and get started. I am going to explore the ways that writing conferences in the elementary grades contribute to a child’s identity as a writer and author. I’m excited to get started now that I have a clear focus, and I hope that I will be able to make a lot of progress on it in the next few weeks.

Next week, I will be attending the substitute teaching orientation for the Rochester City School District on Tuesday. After that, I can start subbing a couple of days a week; I think that it will be valuable experience and it will be nice to spend some more time in the classroom. Next Wednesday, my supervisor is coming in to observe me teach a lesson in the Pre-K class that I am in.

Last, but certainly not least, I have an interview with the RCSD next Thursday for full time employment next school year!

Leave a Reply

