Spring Semester Begins

After a busy but refreshing winter break, classes have started up again for the spring semester. Since my literacy certification will be Birth-6th grade, I am taking a couple of classes in early childhood education. All of my experience in the classroom so far has been with elementary age students so I think that these classes, as well as my new practicum placement, will be full of new experiences. I am also taking a class which focuses on assessment. I am grateful to have a class about assessment and I am hoping that it will help build my knowledge of, and experience with, different forms of assessment.

As I mentioned, I began my new practicum placement. I am in a Universal Pre-K classroom in an urban school. I have never worked with children of this age and I think it will take a little while for me to adjust. I feel a bit out of my element in terms of lesson planning and teaching, but I am also really enjoying myself so far. The kids are so excited about learning and they seem eager to participate in any activity presented to them. I think that working with this age group will definitely be different than what I am used to, but I also think that it will be a lot of fun. I look forward to integrating new ideas and knowledge from my early childhood classes into my time in the UPK class.

Other than that, I am still working on job applications. It takes a lot of time and organization to get together the transcripts, letters of recommendation, test scores, certifications and everything else that school districts ask for! I’m hoping to have everything done in the next couple of weeks; I’m anxious to get out there and start teaching!

Leave a Reply

